Run the World

After weeks of training and posts of typing, I’m thrilled to say that I have accomplished another task of the year…I did my first ever marathon.

Having raised £150 for the city’s homeless shelter, I was pumped up, excited and rearing to go. I don’t remember receiving so much support, not just from my family and friends but also from those crowds in the street…it’s not something you ever forget!

Instead of writing about my day, I’ve posted photos and attempted to vlog instead. I think this is my first time actually vlogging, so please excuse any imparted cheesiness!

IMG_4997

A sneaky opportunity to take a quick picture, after tightening up my shoelaces

The above two vlogs were taken 8k into the marathon, 2k left to go!

A few photos taken by the marathon professional photographers…surprising because I couldn’t see many cameras! I think it was around this point I was listening to Noel Gallagher’s ‘Everybody’s on the Run’. 

IMG_5004!

The other side of the finish line!

I don’t know why I’m constantly blinking here either

19875389_1675680845815543_3957964050430212219_n

Some fundraisers for the homeless shelter

IMG_5018

A little memento of marathon trinkets

This was a day I truly enjoyed. Having never done a marathon before (let alone trained for one), it was a totally new experience for me. It kept me fit and it was all for a good cause.  Partaking in this was a golden opportunity for me to raise more money than the loose change I give to strangers on the street.

I’m passionate about reducing the levels of homelessness and helping people get back into the community safely. Everybody has a different story to tell and everybody is living a different life. However in this day and age, nobody should be living on the streets. This was a day of real service and one I am very proud off.

Leave a Reply

