Nicest Kids in Town

A few days ago, I went out for dinner and drinks with some work friends from the stroke job. Due to oncall or family commitments, not everybody could make it-but despite this it was a very eventful night!

I decided to bring my boyfriend along, whilst one of my friends brought her partner too. This was probably my second time I think where I brought him along to a work-social event this year (you can see how often we meet up!). We had our fair share of pizzas, a few beers and glasses of prosecco between us. I was made to ask the bartender for “their sweetest beer”, on behalf of my boyfriend. That’s right, I had to ask the bartender for this drink, and yes he gave me strange look! (Seeing as I purchased a Cherry Beer!)

All in all it was a very enjoyable night, but the main reason I decided to write about this is because it somewhat relates to my last blog post. Compared to the previous discussions I told you about, the things we talked about here were definitely more interesting, lively and entertaining. I thought why this might be, and I came up with some reasons:-maybe it was because we had worked together for much longer, and the next time we would meet wouldn’t be because of work. This was also a social event, where we were free to talk about more varied things. Or maybe I could relate to these friends more than the others I spoke about-none of us were married!

Towards the end of the evening, I made my way to the toilet and when I came back, all my friends seemed to look amazed at me. I couldn’t really think why at first, until they told me…my boyfriend had apparently updated them about my plans to Uganda. I was pleasantly surprised and didn’t know how to react, only a handful of people know about it!  It made me realise that I like to keep my work life separate from my personal life, but in my mind there wasn’t anything wrong with some overlay. We probably wouldn’t be working together in the future,so I could be more relaxed about things. I was reminded about something Paul Graham, venture capitalist and co-founder of Y Combinator wrote in one of this essays:

Friends offer moral support, but secrecy also has its advantages. There’s something pleasing about a secret project. And you can take more risks, because no one will know if you fail. 

So no turning back!

Leave a Reply

