Broken Strings

Why did I choose to blog? To express, to document and in this case…to bring me back to base. Its been a weird couple of days where things didn’t turn out right, and you start doubting yourself, thinking if you need more confidence in everything else.

As I sat on the floor with my back against the radiator (which felt particularly nice on a chilly day outside!), I went on the computer and typed in a movie soundtrack from the legendary Hans Zimmer, from the film Thelma and LouiseThough I had only seen bits of it from so long ago, I kid you not I have it running on Now TV, right now! The song is played by one of my boyfriend’s heroes, guitarist Guthrie Govan. It’s a beautiful song, but watch what happens half way through, it’s every guitarist’s worst nightmare…

I believe that music maybe one of the best things that’s happened to humanity. It can connect people all around the world, and let them feel the same feelings. However, sometimes you can watch a clip more than once, and you feel something different each time you watch it.  When I first watched this clip today, I cried a little, which I don’t usually. I don’t really know why I did, but the emotions I felt on this occasion were very different from the last time I watched it, yet all still very real to me. When I did watch it,  I tried to compare it to the situation I was in. If he could pull through this mishap and come out shining more so towards the end, then maybe I can too?

Leave a Reply

