Connect with your inner child

What did you want to be as a child? I mean really what were your dreams? Mine definitely wasn’t to be a doctor. Somewhere down the line, I realised that I wanted to live my life by practising medicine and serving others…but my childhood dream was to be an explorer.

I watched Jurassic Park for the first time when I was 6 years old, and I fell in love with dinosaurs. I read the dinosaur magazines that came out, drew pictures from them and collected them in my blue clipboard. I loved the team of paleontologists who went on all fours, digging for remains. I admired Laura Dern’s character as Dr Ellie Sattler. In my mind she was a true explorer…she was courageous, wore awesome adventure clothes and wasn’t afraid to get her hands dirty (remember the Triceratops poop?). I wanted to be just like her, and a part of me still does.

6 years later I watched The Mummy and I was obsessed with the film. I loved the idea of discovering another realm, digging for artefacts and relics, reading the Egyptian scriptures. The fantasies of exploring and searching for Egyptian remains continue to thrill me even today. Since watching this movie at the age of 12, I’ve always wanted to learn how to read the Egyptian hieroglyphs. I even bought a book, not too long ago, in a bid to teach myself how to read the scriptures, but I haven’t read one page still.

4785641918_d408b00faa

evie

These women maybe from movies, but as a child that didn’t stop me from aspiring to them. In my eyes they were the embodiments of exploring. 

So why now have I decided to share with you my childhood dreams? Because they are still relevant.

My boyfriend introduced me to a YouTube interview of the international bestseller Robert Greene, by  Tom Bilyeu on his inside quest channel. If you can find it, I highly recommend you watch it…otherwise here it is in a nutshell:

First know what it is you really love doing, know what you are meant to do with your life.  As a child you would have been passionate about something, but because of the others around you, your parents etc. you found a career in something else.  You had passions at such a young age but you don’t remember them, or don’t think they are relevant. Figure out what you loved as a kid, and then decide how to incorporate this into your life’s work. 

This is my next step, deciding how to incorporate my inner child into my future life. What is your inner child telling you to do with yours?

Leave a Reply

