Seven days in sunny June

Stemming back from my first post on this blog, I wanted to reflect a little bit about my time in Uganda. In the seven days I spent in this beautiful country, I tried to pack in as many activities as I could, including the most amazing gorilla trekking and game safari experiences I have ever experienced (It’s amazing what you can do in 7 days!). One other activity which I found fascinating involved spending an afternoon at Bwindi Community Hospital, which my guide kindly organised upon my request. I was provided with a tour of the hospital by the communications manager based there, and I was enlightened by the work I witnessed there. I became more passionate about their cause and by spending just one afternoon there, I was inspired to get more involved with this cause, and it looks like I’m not the only one…

Stephen Fry at Bwindi Community Hospital in 2008

A few days ago I got in touch with the communications manager, expressing my gratitude for his time that day, as well as my desire in helping him and the team of doctors who work there. He was delighted to receive my email and has expressed a keen interest for me to take part….I just need to think why I want to do what I want to do…that should inspire me to decide how to do it.

Leave a Reply

